Exhibition: 50 Years Gutenberg Prize 1968–2018

International personalities in Gutenberg's succession

Since 1968, the International Gutenberg Society, together with the City of Mainz, has awarded the Gutenberg Prize for outstanding artistic, technical and scientific achievements in the field of printing. The award, which is endowed with 10,000 euros today, was presented every three years at the beginning, since 1994 in annual rotation with the City of Leipzig.

On the occasion of this anniversary, an exhibition in the city hall gallery honours all 21 prizewinners to date. Among them are well-known personalities such as Umberto Eco and Elizabeth L. Eisenstein, or the inventor of the e-book, Joseph M. Jacobson.

Date: Opening on Friday, 15 June at 18:00, Exhibition until Saturday, 14 July 2018
Time: Monday to Friday from 7:00-18:00 h, Saturday from 9:00-14:00 h
Location: City hall gallery Mainz, right lobby
Host: International Gutenberg Society in cooperation with the state capital of Mainz