Gutenberg Prize

Since 1968, the Gutenberg Society, together with the city of Mainz, has awarded the Gutenberg Prize of the International Gutenberg Society and the City of Mainz for outstanding artistic, technical and scientific achievements in the field of printing. The award was initially awarded every three years, since 1994 then in the annual change with the Gutenberg Prize of the city of Leipzig, which also honors outstanding book art achievements. The Gutenberg Prize is endowed with 10,000 euros.

Gutenberg Prize 2018

Alberto Manguel, born 1948 in Buenos Aires, grew up in Israel and Argentina and has been a Canadian citizen since 1988. At home in several languages, he has edited, lectured and translated in Buenos Aires, Paris, Milan, London and Toronto; since 2016 he has been the director of the Argentine National Library and the successor of the legendary Jorge L. Borges, the blind librarian of the Argentine Library, who was assisted by the young Alberto Manguel as a reader.
With his book "The History of Reading", Alberto Manguel created a seduction to reading in 1998, which was translated into 36 languages. On his 70th birthday, a declaration of love to his own 40,000 book library has just been published under the title "The Hidden Library. One Elegy and Ten Digressions" (Packing My Library: An Elegy and Ten Digressions, New Haven: Yale University Press).

An Obituary to Ricardo J. Vicent Museros, Gutenberg Prize Winner and Founder of the First Spanish Printing Museum

The Presidium and Board of the International Gutenberg Society in Mainz mourn the death of their senator and Gutenberg Prize winner Ricardo José Vicent Museros, who died on 16 February 2019 at the age of 80. 

Senator Museros was an outstanding personality and is the founder of the first Spanish printing museum in the Santa Maria del Puig monastery on the outskirts of Valencia. Thanks to him, the "Museo de la Imprenta y de la Obra Grafica", founded in 1987, has close ties to the Gutenberg Museum in Mainz. 

Born in 1938, the printer and publisher studied in Valencia and in Germany, where he graduated as a technician in photomechanical reproduction with work experience in various printing works in the country. He was the fourth generation of a family of printers and inherited his father's workshop in Valencia. He later founded several of his own companies, including Vicent García Editores in 1974. Vicent García Editores published several limited editions, numbered facsimiles of manuscripts, incunabula and old books as well as encyclopaedias on Valencian culture. 

However, Senator Museros gained his greatest importance through his cultural mediation activities. In 1977, he promoted the town twinning between Mainz and Valencia, referring to the common connection through the heritage of Gutenberg. Mainz, the birthplace of printing with movable type, and Valencia, the printing site of the first literary work in Spain, have been in close contact ever since. On 11 December 1978, the partnership document was officially signed by representatives of both cities. Valencia is thus the first Spanish city to have entered into such a partnership with a German city.

Senator Museros received numerous awards for his wide-ranging services, including the Gutenberg Prize of the International Gutenberg Society and the City of Mainz in 1992 and the Federal Cross of Merit in 2003. Throughout his life, he remained faithful to his commitment to communicating the art of printing and promoting the relationship between the twin cities of Mainz and Valencia. By maintaining and further developing this European connection, which he has been instrumental in establishing, we keep his work alive in our memories. 

In these days our sympathy goes especially to the family and all relatives.  

Presidium and Board of the International Gutenberg Society